Sloppy Firsts | Megan McCafferty

After Jessica’s best friend moves away from their suburban New Jersey town, she’s left alone to deal with her anxiety about parental relationships, vapid classmates, and of course, boys.

Awards & Honors

• A YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, 2003

Booktalk

Jessica Darling is in a funk. Ever since Hope moved away, nothing has been able to cheer her up. Not school, not her track meets, definitely not her sister’s upcoming wedding, and not even her own birthday.

I told my parents not to even dare throwing me a Sweet Sixteen party. The very thought of ice-cream cake and pink crepe paper makes me want to hurl. Not to mention the fact that I can’t even imagine who would be on the guest list since I hate all my other friends. I know my parents think I’m being ridiculous. But if the one person I want to be there can’t be there, I’d rather just stay home. And mope. Or sleep.

Besides, I have never been sweet. Maybe not never, but definitely not after the age of three. That’s when my baby blond hair suddenly darkened—and my attitude went with it. Which is why my dad’s nickname for me is “Notso,” as in Jessica Not-So-Darling. (p 5)

McCafferty, Megan. Sloppy Firsts. New York: Three Rivers Press, 2001.

June 1, 2009. Tags: , , . Chick Lit.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

