The Princess Diaries | Meg Cabot

Fourteen-year-old Mia is in for the surprise of her life when her father reveals she’s the princess of a small country in Europe.

Awards & Honors

• A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults, 2001

• A YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, 2001

Booktalk

Some girls dream of being a princess. For Mia Thermopolis, finding out she’s royalty is worse than flunking math, worse than being invisible to her number one crush. In fact, it kind of has her freaking out.

“You should see what I look like. You never saw anyone who looked LESS like a princess than I do. I mean, I have really bad hair that isn’t curly or straight; it’s sort of triangular, so I have to wear it really short or I look like a Yield sign. And it isn’t blond or brunette, it’s in the middle, the sort of color they call mouse brown, or dishwater blond. Attractive, huh? And I have a really big mouth and no breasts and feet that look like skis. Lilly says my only attractive feature is my eyes, which are gray, but right then they were all squinty and red-looking since I was trying not to cry.

I mean, princesses don’t cry, right?” (p.35)

This one does!

Cabot, Meg. The Princess Diaries. New York: HarperCollins, 2000.

May 9, 2009. Tags: , , . Chick Lit.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

